Hiroshima AI Process (HAP)

Context: During the annual Group of Seven (G-7) Summit hosted in Hiroshima, Japan, the G-7 Hiroshima Leaders’ Communiqué introduced the Hiroshima AI Process (HAP).
  • This initiative aims to establish a framework for the regulation of Artificial Intelligence (AI).
About Hiroshima AI Process (HAP):
  • Discussions on generative AI: G7 tasked relevant ministers to establish the Hiroshima AI process, through a G7 working group, in an inclusive manner and in cooperation with the OECD and GPAI, for discussions on generative AI by the end of this year.
  • Topics of discussion: Governance, safeguard of intellectual property rights including copyrights, promotion of transparency, response to foreign information manipulation, including disinformation, and responsible utilisation of these technologies.
  • Objective: 
    • To work with others to advance international discussions on inclusive AI governance and interoperability to achieve our common vision and goal of trustworthy AI, in line with our shared democratic value.
    • To indicate what values and norms will guide it and from where it will derive its guiding principles, based on which it will govern AI.
    • To develop procedures that advance transparency, openness, and fair processes for developing responsible AI.
    • To develop a common understanding on some key regulatory issues.
  • The HAP is likely to conclude by December 2023.
Additional Information About GPAI:
  • The Global Partnership on Artificial Intelligence (GPAI) is a multi-stakeholder initiative which aims to bridge the gap between theory and practice on AI by supporting cutting-edge research and applied activities on AI-related priorities.
  • It is built around a shared commitment to the OECD Recommendation on Artificial Intelligence.
  • GPAI brings together engaged minds and expertise from science, industry, civil society, governments, international organisations and academia to foster international cooperation.
  • Launched in June 2020 with 15 members, GPAI is the fruition of an idea developed within the G7.
  • Today, GPAI’s 29 members are Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, the Republic of Korea, Senegal, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Türkiye, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union.
About G7:
  • The G7 is an informal bloc of industrialized democracies that meets annually to discuss issues such as global economic governance, international security, and energy policy.
  • Members: United States, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, and the United Kingdom (UK)
  • Russia belonged to the forum from 1998 through 2014, when the bloc was known as the Group of Eight (G8), but it was suspended following its annexation of Ukraine’s Crimea region.
 News Source: The Hindu 
Share this with friends ->