PEN Pinter Prize

Context: British children’s writer and performance poet Michael Rosen has been awarded the prestigious PEN Pinter Prize 2023.
  • He was awarded because he championed a way of writing for children which reflects their everyday worlds, using humour and wordplay to validate their imaginative ways of thinking and being.
About PEN Pinter Prize
  • Established in: 2009
  • It is given in memory of Nobel-laureate playwright Harold Pinter. 
  • The annual award is given to an author who:
    1. must have a significant body of plays, poetry, essays, or fiction of outstanding literary merit, written in English
    2. is from the UK, Ireland and the Commonwealth countries
    3. who reflects a fierce intellectual determination to define the real truth of our lives and our societies.
  • Criteria for the annual award:
    • Must have significant plays, poetry, essays, or fiction of exceptional literary merit in English.
    • Reflects a fierce commitment to uncovering the truth about our lives and societies.
    • Nationality: From the UK, Ireland, or Commonwealth countries.
News Source: Indian Express
Share this with friends ->