Air Defender 23 Exercise

Context:  NATO is set to kickstart its biggest air deployment exercise- Air Defender 23.
  • The exercise is primarily based in Germany while some tactical and operational level training will occur in Estonia, Latvia and Czech Republic.
About NATO
  • NATO is a security alliance of 31 countries from North America and Europe. NATO’s fundamental goal is to safeguard the Allies’ freedom and security by political and military means
  • Decision making: A “NATO decision” is the expression of the collective will of all 31 member countries since all decisions are taken by consensus.
  • 12 founding member countries: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and the United States.
  • Other members: Greece, Turkey, Germany, Spain, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Albania, Croatia, Montenegro, North Macedonia (2020) and Finland (2023).
  • Headquarters: Brussels, Belgium.
Source: The Economic Times

Leave a Comment