Intergovernmental Negotiations

Context:  The UNGA President said that the first segment of UN Intergovernmental Negotiations framework meetings are now webcast. About Intergovernmental Negotiations Framework (IGN):
  • It is a group of nation-states working within the United Nations to further reform of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC).
  • Composition: The IGN is composed of several different international organisations
    • African Union
    • G4 nations (India, Brazil, Japan and Germany)
    • Uniting for Consensus Group (UfC)
    • L69 Group of Developing Countries
    • Arab League
    • Caribbean Community (CARICOM)
  • Each group represents a different set of positions vis-a-vis reforming the United Nations Security Council.
United Nations Security Council
  • United Nations Security Council, is the United Nations (UN) organ whose primary responsibility is the maintenance of international peace and security.
  • Membership:
    1. Five Permanent Members: China, France, Russia, United Kingdom, United States
    2. Ten non-permanent members elected by the UN General Assembly for a two-year term.
    3. The non-permanent members are generally chosen to achieve equitable representation among geographic regions, with five members coming from Africa or Asia, one from eastern Europe, two from Latin America, and two from western Europe or other areas.
Functions of the Security Council:
  • To maintain international peace and security in accordance with the principles and purposes of the United Nations;
  • To formulate plans for the establishment of a system to regulate armaments;
  • To determine the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression and to recommend what action should be taken;
  • To call on Members to apply economic sanctions and other measures not involving the use of force to prevent or stop aggression.         
News Source: ANI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *