Context: In a recently concluded NATO summit held at Vilnius, Lithuania, members strengthened their commitment to defence and investment. They also agreed to bring Ukraine closer to NATO, and deepen partnerships around the world. About NATO:
  • NATO is a transatlantic security alliance composed of thirty-one member countries.
  • Established in: It was established in 1949 with the signing of the North Atlantic Treaty, also called as Washington Treaty.
  • Headquarters: Brussels, Belgium.
  • Objectives:
    • Cooperation: To provide a unique link between these transatlantic countries, enabling them to consult and cooperate on political and military issues.
    • Limiting threat: To counter the threat of erstwhile Soviet Union’s possible expansion attempts in Europe.
  • Underlying Principle: 
    • Principle of collective defence: NATO is committed to the principle that an attack against one or several of its members is considered as an attack against all.
    • Membership criteria: NATO membership is open to “any other European state in a position to further the principles of this Treaty and to contribute to the security of the North Atlantic area.”
    • Members: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom, the United States, Greece, Turkey, Germany, Spain, Czechia, Hungary, Poland, Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Albania, Croatia, Montenegro, the most recent additions were North Macedonia in 2020 and Finland in 2023.
News Source: livemint

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *