National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP)

  • The Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG) reported that the Ministry of Rural Development (MoRD) has diverted funds from the National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP) towards promoting its other initiatives.
More about the news:
  • The allocation under NSAP to the states/ UTs were meant for disbursal of pension under various sub-schemes of NSAP. 
  • During the auditing of the CAG report on the performance audit of the NSAP from 2017-18 to 2020-21, instances of diversion of funds by the ministry and states/ UTs out of allocated funds for NSAP were noticed.
National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP):
  • About: NSAP is a social security and welfare programme to provide support to aged persons, widows, disabled persons and bereaved families on death of primary bread winner, belonging to below poverty line households.
  • Nodal Ministry: Ministry of Rural Development
  • Funding Pattern: Centrally Sponsored Scheme
Objectives of NSAP:
  • Provides social assistance benefits to poor households in the case of death, maternity, or old age of the breadwinner.
  • Ensure minimum national standards, in addition to the benefits the States are currently providing or might provide in the future.
  • Ensure uniform social protection to the beneficiaries across the country without interruption.
Scheme components:
  • Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS): 
    • It is a non-contributory old age pension scheme that covers Indians who are 60 years and above and live below the poverty line.
    • All IGNOAPS beneficiaries aged 60–79 receive a monthly pension of Rs. 300 (Rs. 200 by central government and Rs. 100 by state government).
    • Those 80 years and above receive a monthly pension amount of Rs. 500.
  • Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (IGNWPS): It provides BPL widows in the age group 40 to 59 with a monthly pension of Rs. 200 per beneficiary.
  • Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS):  Individuals aged 18 years and above with more than 80% disability and living below the poverty line receive Rs. 300 per month. (₹500 for those 80 years and above).
  • National Family Benefit Scheme (NFBS): In the event of death of a bread-winner between 18–64 years of age in a household, the bereaved family will receive lumpsum assistance of 20,000.
  • Annapurna Scheme: It aims to provide food security to meet the requirement of Under the Annapurna Scheme, 10 kg of free rice is provided every month to those senior citizens who, though eligible, have remained uncovered under the IGNOAPS.
News Source: Indian Express 
Share this with friends ->